BVEStation

Author Topic: 2 Questions  (Read 4182 times)

Offline MTAstar4

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • Learning to code. Please help!
    • View Profile
2 Questions
« on: January 16, 2016, 10:03:38 am »
Hi guys, I am wondering why Object Viewer and Route Viewer are not opening, OpenBVE works fine, but when I double click Object Viewer or Route Viewer, nothing happens; it just doesn't open. Another question, I'm trying to develop a skeleton for the Q Coney IS-57/7 Av but whenever I open OpenBVE to see my progress, it says "Object Reference Not Set To An Instance Of An Object. Whats up with that?

Thanks Alot!
MTAstar4

Email me at: mtastar04@gmail.com

Offline YankeesPwnMets

  • Head Admin
  • Dispatcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 680
  • Gender: Male
  • Lexington Av Express
    • View Profile
Re: 2 Questions
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2016, 06:55:06 pm »
Just to be clear on your errors- Routeviewer and Objectviewer don't work at all, and openBVE throws up an error, correct?

Offline MTAstar4

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • Learning to code. Please help!
    • View Profile
Re: 2 Questions
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2016, 07:27:01 pm »
No, no error. It simply just doesn't load.

Offline YankeesPwnMets

  • Head Admin
  • Dispatcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 680
  • Gender: Male
  • Lexington Av Express
    • View Profile
Re: 2 Questions
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2016, 01:18:07 pm »
Which program throws the "Object Reference Not Set To An Instance Of An Object" error?

Offline MTAstar4

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • Learning to code. Please help!
    • View Profile
Re: 2 Questions
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2016, 02:55:38 pm »
Openbve. When I try to launch it to see my progress, it says that.

Offline MTAstar4

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • Learning to code. Please help!
    • View Profile
Re: 2 Questions
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2016, 02:56:56 pm »
But the Object Viewer and Route Viewer just doesn't load.

Offline YankeesPwnMets

  • Head Admin
  • Dispatcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 680
  • Gender: Male
  • Lexington Av Express
    • View Profile
Re: 2 Questions
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2016, 01:59:16 am »
If you made any changes to the source code - get rid of them. Otherwise, make sure that you have all the dependencies

Offline MTAstar4

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • Learning to code. Please help!
    • View Profile
Re: 2 Questions
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2016, 04:12:07 pm »
I'm sorry, but what is a source code? I'm new here.

Offline YankeesPwnMets

  • Head Admin
  • Dispatcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 680
  • Gender: Male
  • Lexington Av Express
    • View Profile
Re: 2 Questions
« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2016, 05:13:06 pm »
The source code is the actual code of a program,  but if you don't know what source code means, you probably don't have any programming experience, so forget that advice. Make sure you have openAL install as well

https://sites.google.com/site/openbvesim/Download/win

Click the openAL link

Offline MTAstar4

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • Learning to code. Please help!
    • View Profile
Re: 2 Questions
« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2016, 11:20:18 am »
I have OpenAL installed.

Offline YankeesPwnMets

  • Head Admin
  • Dispatcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 680
  • Gender: Male
  • Lexington Av Express
    • View Profile
Re: 2 Questions
« Reply #10 on: January 23, 2016, 07:36:47 pm »
Start openBVE and try to run it normally. After the error pops up, go to your start menu, search for "Event Viewer" and click on Administrative Events on the left. Find an openBVE related fault and screenshot the details

Offline MTAstar4

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • Learning to code. Please help!
    • View Profile
Re: 2 Questions
« Reply #11 on: January 23, 2016, 09:59:39 pm »
How would I know that it would be an OpenBVE error?

Offline YankeesPwnMets

  • Head Admin
  • Dispatcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 680
  • Gender: Male
  • Lexington Av Express
    • View Profile
Re: 2 Questions
« Reply #12 on: January 24, 2016, 12:32:39 am »
The 'source' column should say 'openbve.exe' or something similar

Offline MTAstar4

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • Learning to code. Please help!
    • View Profile
Re: 2 Questions
« Reply #13 on: January 24, 2016, 02:32:43 pm »
Nope, there is nothing related to OpenBVE on Event Viewer.

Offline YankeesPwnMets

  • Head Admin
  • Dispatcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 680
  • Gender: Male
  • Lexington Av Express
    • View Profile
Re: 2 Questions
« Reply #14 on: January 28, 2016, 05:25:08 pm »
Weird. Have you tried redownloading a fresh copy of openBVE?