BVEStation

Author Topic: Best For Openbve  (Read 6309 times)

Offline TyroneR44

  • Conductor
  • **
  • Posts: 117
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
Best For Openbve
« on: August 18, 2012, 03:36:04 pm »
Which computer or laptop is best for Openbve ?

Offline [CT1660]

  • Dispatcher
  • ****
  • Posts: 575
  • Gender: Male
  • openBVE Developer, OMSI Repainter & Engine Modder
    • View Profile
    • Enter The Lair
Re: Best For Openbve
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2012, 04:34:48 pm »
it really depends mainly on your graphics card, processor, and ram.

Offline peacemak3r

  • Dispatcher
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
  • Gender: Male
  • NYCTF
    • View Profile
Re: Best For Openbve
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2012, 05:12:32 pm »
Almost anything on the current market can run OpenBVE at the moment.  It doesn't take that much to run the program.  You don't need anything top of the line for this program.

Offline Brighton Express

  • Operator
  • ***
  • Posts: 311
  • Gender: Male
  • Progress Updater for the NYC Transit Forums
    • View Profile
Re: Best For Openbve
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2012, 05:49:18 pm »
Make sure you got some space. Or that R46 will lag the sh*t out of your computer. All depends on what routes you want to play, and what trains you want to download.  I second exactly what peacemak3r said.

Offline YankeesPwnMets

  • Head Admin
  • Dispatcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 682
  • Gender: Male
  • Lexington Av Express
    • View Profile
Re: Best For Openbve
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2012, 08:13:27 pm »
Got a budget? I can recommend something custom built...

Offline Fan Railer

  • Global Moderator
  • Dispatcher
  • ****
  • Posts: 897
  • Gender: Male
  • Train Developer
    • View Profile
    • Fan Railer's YouTube Channel
Re: Best For Openbve
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2012, 01:03:19 am »
If you don't have an i7 processor and one hell of a good graphics card in that machine, yea, the new R46 will lag the crap out of your machine. 6 gbs of ram however, is plenty sufficient to run the program with any train, since i only use about 2 or so gbs max when I run the program.

Offline Orion V CNG #748

  • Operator
  • ***
  • Posts: 334
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Best For Openbve
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2012, 01:55:13 am »
some tricks would kind of boost up openbve for you but not that much such as

1)right clicking on your desktop screen, click personalize, go to window color and appearance, and selecting windows classic as the color scheme.

2) go to your system properties, click on advanced system settings, hit "Settings..." on the performance menu, and choose adjust for best performance.

I currently use both of these settings since my windows 7 laptop broked, and now i have to use my crappy old, but still working windows vista at this time. :P

Or if you want you can download Game Booster, its free of charge and stops unnecessary programs on your laptop in order to give you as much fps as you can
« Last Edit: August 19, 2012, 01:57:23 am by Orion V CNG #748 »

Offline Pegasusleos4

  • Conductor
  • **
  • Posts: 238
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
Re: Best For Openbve
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2012, 10:17:36 pm »
Can Openbve run well on an i3 or i5 processor?

Offline Train man

  • Conductor
  • **
  • Posts: 112
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
Re: Best For Openbve
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2012, 11:05:18 pm »
works fine on my mac book pro with an i5 processor

Offline YankeesPwnMets

  • Head Admin
  • Dispatcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 682
  • Gender: Male
  • Lexington Av Express
    • View Profile
Re: Best For Openbve
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2012, 05:09:09 pm »
Can Openbve run well on an i3 or i5 processor?

The interiors run fine on the i5 and HD Graphics 4000.. just don't expect to run any new exteriors anymore.

Re: Best For Openbve
« Reply #10 on: December 06, 2012, 04:52:13 pm »
I have a Toshiba Satellite L655 with an Intel Pentium processor. You think I could run well on OpenBVE with this?

Offline Drag0nflamez

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
Re: Best For Openbve
« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2012, 07:46:28 am »
I have a Toshiba Satellite L655 with an Intel Pentium processor. You think I could run well on OpenBVE with this?
Depends on what kind of video card is located on your chipset. Let's just say that Pentiums aren't Intel's best product, but I doubt the new R46 likes it... (the R16 will be working just fine, for some reason)

Offline Threxx1

  • Conductor
  • **
  • Posts: 226
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Best For Openbve
« Reply #12 on: December 07, 2012, 08:13:49 am »
Depends on what kind of video card is located on your chipset. Let's just say that Pentiums aren't Intel's best product, but I doubt the new R46 likes it... (the R16 will be working just fine, for some reason)

Difference is 3D poles.

Offline peacemak3r

  • Dispatcher
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
  • Gender: Male
  • NYCTF
    • View Profile
Re: Best For Openbve
« Reply #13 on: December 07, 2012, 09:16:16 am »
I have a Toshiba Satellite L655 with an Intel Pentium processor. You think I could run well on OpenBVE with this?
Depends on what kind of video card is located on your chipset. Let's just say that Pentiums aren't Intel's best product, but I doubt the new R46 likes it... (the R16 will be working just fine, for some reason)

After looking into the specs, it'll run OpenBVE.  But considering the quality of routes and trains these days, you should probably run them at the lowest setting.

It's running a dual-core at least.

Offline B3 via Av U

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Gender: Male
  • Fire Alarm Guy
    • View Profile
Re: Best For Openbve
« Reply #14 on: January 26, 2013, 01:20:38 pm »
If you don't have an i7 processor and one hell of a good graphics card in that machine, yea, the new R46 will lag the crap out of your machine. 6 gbs of ram however, is plenty sufficient to run the program with any train, since i only use about 2 or so gbs max when I run the program.
my computer has a Celeron and a 2GB RAM, the R46 won't even WORK.
however I play OpenBVE on my brother's computer, which is a lot better with an i5 and 8GB RAM.
Aah! God damn this 15 year old desktop PC!