BVEStation

Author Topic: making a photorealistic panel  (Read 3592 times)

Offline Dr. Subway18

  • Operator
  • ***
  • Posts: 441
  • Gender: Male
  • proud 1999 Kenworth W900B owner(NTC cummins, 10sp)
    • View Profile
making a photorealistic panel
« on: February 23, 2012, 01:29:20 pm »
I'm trying to make a photorealistic panel, but when i make it it comes out fuzzy because i made the image smaller, any fix to it? obviously there is because Mr.Railfan is doing it ;) btw Mr. Railfan i love your work keep it up . but if i could only get my panels to come out clear.

Offline Fox-179

  • Dispatcher
  • ****
  • Posts: 907
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: making a photorealistic panel
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2012, 02:22:19 pm »
Take a picture of the panel in a decent resolution at least 1024x768,make sure it's in focus and be as stable as possible and thats how it is.
When pictures are smaller in size they're usually sharper.

Offline SubwayTrainOperator5

  • Dispatcher
  • ****
  • Posts: 761
  • Gender: Male
  • R44, R46, and R68 fan / OpenBVE Videomaker
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Channel
Re: making a photorealistic panel
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2012, 05:15:16 pm »
Otherwise, there is no way to return an image back to normal after shrinking it and making the shrinked image big again (Which makes it come out blurry), it all depends on how you take the picture with your camera in the first place. Try doing what Fox-179 suggested, by taking it at 1024x768 or higher
Signature Removed (dead link)

Offline Dr. Subway18

  • Operator
  • ***
  • Posts: 441
  • Gender: Male
  • proud 1999 Kenworth W900B owner(NTC cummins, 10sp)
    • View Profile
Re: making a photorealistic panel
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2012, 05:31:06 pm »
Now if i only lived in NY to take these pictures  :'(

Offline Bveguy

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Gender: Male
  • NYCTBA Train Service Supervisor
    • View Profile
Re: making a photorealistic panel
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2012, 07:08:18 pm »
Or you can try this solution:
By using Adobe Photoshop, change the resolution of the image under Image -> Image Size and change the resolution to a higher DPI or pixels/inch. After you do that, try enlarging the image again. It should look less "pixelated".

Offline bve

  • Dispatcher
  • ****
  • Posts: 726
  • Gender: Male
  • OMSI anyone?
    • View Profile
Re: making a photorealistic panel
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2012, 08:22:34 pm »
Or you can try this solution:
By using Adobe Photoshop, change the resolution of the image under Image -> Image Size and change the resolution to a higher DPI or pixels/inch. After you do that, try enlarging the image again. It should look less "pixelated".

Not everyone has photoshop.
Favorite LFS Powertrain: Cummins ISL 9 EPA10
                                        Allison WB-400R Gen IV
Favorite CNG/Diesel Engine: Detroit Diesel Series 50

Favorite Transmission Make: Allison Transmission

Offline Dr. Subway18

  • Operator
  • ***
  • Posts: 441
  • Gender: Male
  • proud 1999 Kenworth W900B owner(NTC cummins, 10sp)
    • View Profile
Re: making a photorealistic panel
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2012, 08:51:46 pm »
yeah i dont have photoshop, i really dont want to buy it because i would only use it once or twice a year if i did buy it.

Offline Mr Railfan

  • Head Admin
  • Dispatcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 621
  • Gender: Male
  • Train Developer and Route Developer
    • View Profile
Re: making a photorealistic panel
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2012, 09:12:15 pm »
yeah i dont have photoshop, i really dont want to buy it because i would only use it once or twice a year if i did buy it.
you dont need photo shop. i use Paint.net for most of the features of the panel and then some other parts i use Gimp
and use Microsoft Paint[windows 7 version] for very simple correction or fixes .


Offline Dr. Subway18

  • Operator
  • ***
  • Posts: 441
  • Gender: Male
  • proud 1999 Kenworth W900B owner(NTC cummins, 10sp)
    • View Profile
Re: making a photorealistic panel
« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2012, 09:37:34 pm »
yeah i dont have photoshop, i really dont want to buy it because i would only use it once or twice a year if i did buy it.
you dont need photo shop. i use Paint.net for most of the features of the panel and then some other parts i use Gimp
and use Microsoft Paint[windows 7 version] for very simple correction or fixes .
ok but when making the panels how do you keep the resolution high?