BVEStation

Author Topic: OpenBve Question.  (Read 7837 times)

Offline trainz2011

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 83
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
OpenBve Question.
« on: July 10, 2012, 03:14:10 pm »
So, i have always seen a lot of openbve video's and picture's.. How Come There are NO strings between The trains like in real life??

And How Come the other trains don't move??

Offline ipac

  • Head Admin
  • Dispatcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 646
    • View Profile
Re: OpenBve Question.
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2012, 04:28:24 pm »
What your asking for is unfortunately a limitation of OpenBVE.  The original BVE was not designed to be a full blown train simulator.  It was only made to be a CAB view train simulator ONLY.

OpenBVE attempted to further this limitation by adding exterior views.  Strings between trains can and will likely be added in future train sets.  Moving trains have the possibility to move, but it has not been perfected yet.  Many routes were designed for BVE and OpenBVE, which is why we have these limitations in place.  OpenBVE provides the possibility for what you want, its just that people have to put it in their projects, as far as how soon, only time can tell.
BVEStation.

Offline Pacific385

  • Dispatcher
  • ****
  • Posts: 749
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
Re: OpenBve Question.
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2012, 05:00:35 pm »
What your asking for is unfortunately a limitation of OpenBVE.  The original BVE was not designed to be a full blown train simulator.  It was only made to be a CAB view train simulator ONLY.

OpenBVE attempted to further this limitation by adding exterior views.  Strings between trains can and will likely be added in future train sets.  Moving trains have the possibility to move, but it has not been perfected yet.  Many routes were designed for BVE and OpenBVE, which is why we have these limitations in place.  OpenBVE provides the possibility for what you want, its just that people have to put it in their projects, as far as how soon, only time can tell.
I'm just throwing something out here but what if you have the car itself and then code the "strings" as a seperate car and then so on? You can fix the length of the cars through the extensions.cfg file if it works.

Offline SubwayTrainOperator5

  • Dispatcher
  • ****
  • Posts: 761
  • Gender: Male
  • R44, R46, and R68 fan / OpenBVE Videomaker
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Channel
Re: OpenBve Question.
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2012, 05:01:12 pm »
Also, whether the other trains move or not depends on the route. The animated static trains are coded into some routes (Like the unfinished Franklin Shuttle and the (Y) Line from Trevor Day BVE World) and they only work on straight tracks on flat surfaces.
Signature Removed (dead link)

Offline Dj Hammers

  • Head Admin
  • Supervisor
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,034
  • Gender: Male
  • 7 Years of Developing for openBVE!
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Channel
Re: OpenBve Question.
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2012, 05:25:03 pm »
Also, whether the other trains move or not depends on the route. The animated static trains are coded into some routes (Like the unfinished Franklin Shuttle and the (Y) Line from Trevor Day BVE World) and they only work on straight tracks on flat surfaces.
There are some ways to have animated trains that follow curves and whose movement is independent of the user's train, but
this concept is still under development.

Offline trainz2011

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 83
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
Re: OpenBve Question.
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2012, 12:15:44 am »
So, in other words adding those between trains can happen but it have to be develop at the perfect time. and other trains moving takes time to code for every route.

Offline Dj Hammers

  • Head Admin
  • Supervisor
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,034
  • Gender: Male
  • 7 Years of Developing for openBVE!
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Channel
Re: OpenBve Question.
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2012, 12:34:07 am »
So, in other words adding those between trains can happen but it have to be develop at the perfect time. and other trains moving takes time to code for every route.
Put very simply, yes. These things are possible, but they require time and effort to develop and implement in openBVE.

Offline [CT1660]

  • Dispatcher
  • ****
  • Posts: 575
  • Gender: Male
  • openBVE Developer, OMSI Repainter & Engine Modder
    • View Profile
    • Enter The Lair
Re: OpenBve Question.
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2012, 05:36:34 pm »
The concept of animated static trains, has a similar function just like a normal OpenBVE train with animated stuff. When applying moving static trains, you would create a .animated file, and position the amount of cars you want to put, as opposed to coding each car on the route.

It relies on the speed of your train. while there is a code so a train moves independently from your train, it is still on the concept stage.

As for cables, this would be a difficult concept to achieve. It IS possible as proven by Anthony Bowden's cross-city south route that is in development.

Unfortunately, his website has been hacked (as he is also an official developer for the OpenBVE program asides odakyufan), but he does have a video of this concept on YouTube.

The catch is, the more accuracy and realism, the more powerful your graphics card needs to be, as this can be proven with the R46.

Offline trainz2011

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 83
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
Re: OpenBve Question.
« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2012, 08:46:20 pm »
what's the name of the video?

Offline [CT1660]

  • Dispatcher
  • ****
  • Posts: 575
  • Gender: Male
  • openBVE Developer, OMSI Repainter & Engine Modder
    • View Profile
    • Enter The Lair

Offline trainz2011

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 83
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
Re: OpenBve Question.
« Reply #10 on: July 11, 2012, 10:59:05 pm »
Oh.. So That how it looks

Offline trainz2011

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 83
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
Re: OpenBve Question.
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2012, 06:48:01 am »

Offline Bombardier01800

  • Head Admin
  • Dispatcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 749
  • Gender: Male
  • Apple Certified Macintosh Technician
    • View Profile
    • MBTA and NJT Transit Forums
Re: OpenBve Question.
« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2015, 12:38:58 am »
How Can I Make A Route?

If You Can Help Me, Your The Best (:

Hello, Mrfunny78!

Welcome to BVEStation! Feel free to familiarize yourself with the place, read the rules here, and if you have any questions, create your own topic on the appropriate board.

With your particular question, our wiki (currently under construction) will give you basic tips on how route building works.

Please do not hesitate to ask if you have any further questions.

Enjoy your stay!
Jose
BVEStation Administrator