BVEStation

Author Topic: (RELEASED) Official Thread for SIR North Shore's New Tech Trains  (Read 171111 times)

Offline BStyles

  • Head Admin
  • Operator
  • ***
  • Posts: 344
  • Gender: Male
  • The CEO
    • View Profile
Re: [OpenBVE] Official Thread for SIR North Shore's R142
« Reply #30 on: February 16, 2011, 01:53:52 pm »
No we won't, because when the 4 is done we will add that onto the 2, and the 5 shuttle.

BStyles

Offline Simon

  • Conductor
  • **
  • Posts: 223
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member / Community Critic
    • View Profile
Re: [OpenBVE] Official Thread for SIR North Shore's R142
« Reply #31 on: February 16, 2011, 05:53:30 pm »
Great train! By the way, is it just me, or does the R153 exterior view look weird when the train is turning?
Kawasaki_Plant

Offline Smooth23

  • Conductor
  • **
  • Posts: 144
  • Gender: Male
  • Beta Tester
    • View Profile
Re: [OpenBVE] Official Thread for SIR North Shore's R142
« Reply #32 on: February 16, 2011, 06:02:00 pm »
the trains dont have the translateall thing in the train and it doesnt stop at the 10 marker

Offline 316 Cape May

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Gender: Male
  • New Jersey Transit B/O
    • View Profile
Re: [OpenBVE] Official Thread for SIR North Shore's R142
« Reply #33 on: February 16, 2011, 06:49:04 pm »
I know, that's why I asked!  8) I was going to reskin it to the 5 train but there is no 5 train coming out anytime soon.

@R40R32, thanks!
Also for 1101 you have that labeled as 2 train when thats a (4) train set.
Umm...may I request 7180 (4) train set plz(change in cab number)
Also basically when the (4) gets done we'll have a (5) train G.O it can be from Crown Hts terminating at 149th Exp track.Also we have a (5) via the 7th Av Line to 42nd St already just need manual and or automated announcements.

I have (5) via 7th Av announcements from Times Sq to 149th Street, the rest of the manhattan stops can be cut/paste from the (2). I recorded in the Unionport Yard with my cousin(T/O) a few years ago, the rest. I would just have to cut/paste for the Brooklyn Stops. I also Have all (5) sounds from Flatbush Av to Eastchester-Dyre and from Eastchester-Dyre to Utica Av And to Bowling Green(To/From) and (5) Shuttle Sounds both ways. Also have Grand Central bound 5 Sounds and the (5) to 149th Street(Upper Level) Sounds.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2011, 06:50:46 pm by 553 Bridgeton »

Offline Lance

  • Operator
  • ***
  • Posts: 283
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
Re: [OpenBVE] Official Thread for SIR North Shore's R142
« Reply #34 on: February 16, 2011, 07:02:34 pm »
If you could release those announcements, it would be much appreciated.

'70s style service sign at Times Sq-42 St.

Offline CJ_2Line91

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member since 4/10/2008
    • View Profile
Re: [OpenBVE] Official Thread for SIR North Shore's R142
« Reply #35 on: February 16, 2011, 08:54:52 pm »
I hope nobody doesn't take this as a insult, but SIR's R142 is just as good or better than trevor's R142

Offline Fox-179

  • Dispatcher
  • ****
  • Posts: 907
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [OpenBVE] Official Thread for SIR North Shore's R142
« Reply #36 on: February 16, 2011, 09:50:42 pm »
I hope nobody doesn't take this as a insult, but SIR's R142 is just as good or better than trevor's R142
I think its better b\c SIR's have HVAC which Trevors didn't have also the sounds are more realistic.But we all have our opinions.

Offline (SIR) North Shore Line

  • Conductor
  • **
  • Posts: 198
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [OpenBVE] Official Thread for SIR North Shore's R142
« Reply #37 on: February 16, 2011, 09:58:44 pm »
the trains dont have the translateall thing in the train and it doesnt stop at the 10 marker

What is translateall?

Great train! By the way, is it just me, or does the R153 exterior view look weird when the train is turning?

Thanks! And yeah, I don't know how to fix the turning radius. Any help with that would be appreciated.

@Cj & 4express, thanks! But it was trevor logan's R142 that inspired me to even get started with the project. I wish it were never taken down because so many people were unable to use a R142 for the 2 line.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2011, 10:01:29 pm by (SIR) North Shore Line »

Offline Smooth23

  • Conductor
  • **
  • Posts: 144
  • Gender: Male
  • Beta Tester
    • View Profile
Re: [OpenBVE] Official Thread for SIR North Shore's R142
« Reply #38 on: February 16, 2011, 10:03:04 pm »
Something Error had told me about long ago basically translateall has like half the size of the train example the Siemens is 18.5 and half of it is 9.25 so its [translateall 0, 0, 9.25]

Offline Bombardier01800

  • Head Admin
  • Dispatcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 749
  • Gender: Male
  • Apple Certified Macintosh Technician
    • View Profile
    • MBTA and NJT Transit Forums
Re: [OpenBVE] Official Thread for SIR North Shore's R142
« Reply #39 on: February 16, 2011, 10:07:19 pm »
Something Error had told me about long ago basically translateall has like half the size of the train example the Siemens is 18.5 and half of it is 9.25 so its [translateall 0, 0, 9.25]
I believe Translate all centers the train so when it turns it turns like a whole train and not individually by car, and it also makes the exterior be aligned with the cab position.
Jose
BVEStation Administrator

Offline Simon

  • Conductor
  • **
  • Posts: 223
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member / Community Critic
    • View Profile
Re: [OpenBVE] Official Thread for SIR North Shore's R142
« Reply #40 on: February 16, 2011, 10:07:46 pm »
Concept doesn't work on animated objects. I just tried it and it affects the coding (animated object won't show), so if anyone knows how to fix this, then it would be greatly appreciated it.

Great job SIR! I forgot to compliment you earlier!
Kawasaki_Plant

Offline Bombardier01800

  • Head Admin
  • Dispatcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 749
  • Gender: Male
  • Apple Certified Macintosh Technician
    • View Profile
    • MBTA and NJT Transit Forums
Re: [OpenBVE] Official Thread for SIR North Shore's R142
« Reply #41 on: February 16, 2011, 10:10:41 pm »
Concept doesn't work on animated objects. I just tried it and it affects the coding (animated object won't show), so if anyone knows how to fix this, then it would be greatly appreciated it.

Great job SIR! I forgot to compliment you earlier!
It does work... Look at the R38
Jose
BVEStation Administrator

Offline Gong Gahou

  • Operator
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
Re: [OpenBVE] Official Thread for SIR North Shore's R142
« Reply #42 on: February 16, 2011, 11:49:52 pm »
Noone has provided the actual meaning to the TranslateAll command yet, so let me explain. It's quite simple, really.

Look at the word Translate. It's a math term that also means "to slide" or "to move".

So, the TranslateAll command simply moves the entire object (hence the All after the word Translate). Why are there three values after it? Because the object will be moving according to the x-,y-,z-coordinate values that you assigned to the command.

Looking at the command, I can see that the train object that is referred to is built negatively. In [TranslateAll 0, 0, 9.25], only the z-value is defined and positive. That means the object is simply being moved (in the z-axis) so the center of the train object is sitting at the origin (0,0,0).
« Last Edit: February 16, 2011, 11:58:04 pm by Gong Gahou »
Previously known as pjiang6211

Offline Orion V CNG #748

  • Operator
  • ***
  • Posts: 334
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [OpenBVE] Official Thread for SIR North Shore's R142
« Reply #43 on: February 17, 2011, 04:48:29 pm »
Something Error had told me about long ago basically translateall has like half the size of the train example the Siemens is 18.5 and half of it is 9.25 so its [translateall 0, 0, 9.25]
i actually tried this on all of the trains i have ( for my personal use of course) and it actually worked, thanks

&

@ (SIR) Outstanding R142 + if possible what will your next train project be?

Sorry i had forgotten to leave feedback lol
« Last Edit: February 17, 2011, 04:51:48 pm by Williamster17 »

Offline Pacific385

  • Dispatcher
  • ****
  • Posts: 749
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
Re: [OpenBVE] Official Thread for SIR North Shore's R142
« Reply #44 on: February 17, 2011, 05:05:08 pm »
Something Error had told me about long ago basically translateall has like half the size of the train example the Siemens is 18.5 and half of it is 9.25 so its [translateall 0, 0, 9.25]
i actually tried this on all of the trains i have ( for my personal use of course) and it actually worked, thanks

&

@ (SIR) Outstanding R142 + if possible what will your next train project be?

Sorry i had forgotten to leave feedback lol
Siemens?