BVEStation

Author Topic: And the Only BVE 5 compatible route we have is...  (Read 3421 times)

Offline Rayvon

  • Operator
  • ***
  • Posts: 387
  • Rating: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Administrator
    • View Profile
And the Only BVE 5 compatible route we have is...
« on: September 08, 2011, 05:54:54 pm »
*Drum roll* The Franklin Avenue Shuttle! If you have the necessary tools and everything needed to run the route (As in no missing files) Then you can use the converter to create a BVE 5 version of the route. There are some visual problems, but they're nothing major and the route is perfectly playable.

So why is the Franklin Ave Shuttle the only BVE 5 compatible route? It's because it was the only route released specifically for BVE 4, meaning that the objects are all in .csv or .x format and the route coding is BVE 4 compliant. All of our routes still use .b3d objects so they will not be able to be converted.

Here are some Screens:



Offline Lance

  • Operator
  • ***
  • Posts: 283
  • Rating: +19/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
Re: And the Only BVE 5 compatible route we have is...
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2011, 06:19:13 pm »
Well, that's a bit disconcerting. And I doubt anyone here is going to go through all the trouble of converting every single object for BVE4 standards just so they'll be convertible to the BVE5 format. I guess we'll be sticking with BVE2/openBVE for a while longer because I also can't see too many people coding routes/objects/trains in an entirely different format than the one they're used to and have been using for the past few years.

'70s style service sign at Times Sq-42 St.

Offline Bombardier01800

  • Head Admin
  • Dispatcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 744
  • Rating: +1/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Apple Certified Macintosh Technician
    • View Profile
    • MBTA and NJT Transit Forums
Re: And the Only BVE 5 compatible route we have is...
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2011, 06:54:37 pm »
would it be too difficult to write a b3d to csv converter?

Site has been improved! Click the image above!!
-Jose.

Offline theflyingoreo

  • Global Moderator
  • Conductor
  • ****
  • Posts: 124
  • Rating: +5/-1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: And the Only BVE 5 compatible route we have is...
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2011, 08:00:23 pm »
Look on mackoy's website, there is a b3d to csv convertor on there.

BVEStation Forums

Re: And the Only BVE 5 compatible route we have is...
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2011, 08:00:23 pm »

Offline Rayvon

  • Operator
  • ***
  • Posts: 387
  • Rating: +14/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: And the Only BVE 5 compatible route we have is...
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2011, 08:50:08 pm »
it's not difficult but it is tedious since his converter doesn't perform batch conversions. And the BVE 5 suite seems to still be a work in progress, the converter is still in it's beta stage, so hopefully he will address the problem and add b3d support.

This should also be a push for us to start coding in newer formats. Sure to some rw may be easy to code in and that's cool, but b3d objects and csv objects share mostly the same code, just slightly different commands. It's about time we ditched the .b3d format
« Last Edit: September 08, 2011, 09:01:11 pm by Rayvon »

Offline Bombardier01800

  • Head Admin
  • Dispatcher
  • ******
  • Posts: 744
  • Rating: +1/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Apple Certified Macintosh Technician
    • View Profile
    • MBTA and NJT Transit Forums
Re: And the Only BVE 5 compatible route we have is...
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2011, 10:11:41 pm »
Got it

Site has been improved! Click the image above!!
-Jose.

Online JayJay85

  • Moderator
  • Conductor
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
  • Rating: +23/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
Re: And the Only BVE 5 compatible route we have is...
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2011, 12:30:34 am »
it's not difficult but it is tedious since his converter doesn't perform batch conversions. And the BVE 5 suite seems to still be a work in progress, the converter is still in it's beta stage, so hopefully he will address the problem and add b3d support.

This should also be a push for us to start coding in newer formats. Sure to some rw may be easy to code in and that's cool, but b3d objects and csv objects share mostly the same code, just slightly different commands. It's about time we ditched the .b3d format

my newer objects i used CSV formats.

Online YankeesPwnMets

  • Global Moderator
  • Dispatcher
  • ****
  • Posts: 610
  • Rating: +10/-7
  • Gender: Male
  • 6 Av Express
    • View Profile
Re: And the Only BVE 5 compatible route we have is...
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2011, 07:03:32 pm »
I got it to work on the older version of BVE 5
http://www.bvestation.com/forums/index.php?topic=4215.0
except this one had graphical issues

Mackoy's converter doesn't really work all that well. For our routes to work with BVE 5, everything would probably need to be recoded by hand
« Last Edit: September 09, 2011, 07:06:19 pm by YankeesPwnMets »

BVEStation Forums

Re: And the Only BVE 5 compatible route we have is...
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2011, 07:03:32 pm »

Offline Twigga

  • New Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Rating: +6/-4
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
Re: And the Only BVE 5 compatible route we have is...
« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2011, 04:58:57 pm »
Csv, lets goooo. lol

Offline TJay1724

  • Moderator
  • Conductor
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
  • Rating: +13/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • BVEStation Member
    • View Profile
Re: And the Only BVE 5 compatible route we have is...
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2011, 05:32:25 pm »
There is a convertor that does just that. Convert between b3d and csv and vice versa. It's called convertor2 and has been around since like 2003 or something.